Winter Break + Board Stuff

jU1rwrU

That was me during break, which is pretty much over. Bummer. I can’t believe I had so much time off and now it’s all gone. Seriously, where does the time go? Classes start up in a couple days and we’ll be starting our third block! How thrilling!Β I am so looking forward to more late night study sessions, drinking liters of cuban coffee, and surviving off of pizza deliveries and Panera runs for months at a time ( /sarcasm, although pizza is probably one of my favorite things to eat ). I mentioned it a couple posts ago, but the administration front loaded us with harder systems so we have an “easier” time in the spring. Now I can see it was worth it. Third block we have psych, GI, and renal. Fourth block we have peds, women’s health, and geriatrics. Our first and second blocks were cardio, respiratory, endocrine, derm, MSK, neuro, and heme/lymph. The hard stuff is definitely done and over with. Whew! As a side note, I have no idea where men’s health fits into the remaining systems.

Since it’s been a while that I’ve posted something, I thought I’d update you all/whoever reads my blog on what I’ve been up do these past several weeks:

Absolutely nothing.

Just kidding, that’s not true. I did some light board studying (I said light- so please don’t be alarmed), a little networking, started some fun projects not related to medicine, hung out with some people I haven’t seen or had contact in for a while, ate some good food, and exercised.

It’s 2015 now, which is a big year for all M2s. Why? Well, because boards. I’m pretty sure that by the time summer comes around, my vocabulary and the vocabulary of my classmates will be reduced to these words: Step 1, First Aid, study, agughh.

I got myself a copy of FA 2015 which I must admit looks pretty awesome. And yes, I am aware that the previous sentence was extremely nerdy-sounding. I bought FA 2015 on Amazon, and this one review caught my eye:

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.25.59 AM

I appreciate the sarcasm since I’m not a completely serious person, and I think it’s important to laugh a little bit, even if it’s about the Step 1.

Anyway, I think that’s about it for now. I hope everyone had a great break and is enjoying the New Year. Time for me to go hang out with some friends.

-NB

2 comments

    1. I’m looking forward to the day that I don’t need to worry about Step 1 anymore! Prepping is going to be tough but I figured so many other people took it and survived, I can get through it too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

