Liebster Award!

I’m excited to say that I’ve been nominated for the Leibster Award once again! A big thank you to lincahceria5 for the nomination. Please check her blog out here.

If you’re nominated, you’re supposed to do the following:

1. Put the Liebster Award logo on your blog.

2. Thank and tag the blog who nominated you.

3. Answer their questions and come up with 10 new ones for you nominees

4. Nominate 8 blogs with less than 200 followers, let them know you’ve nominated them and link them in your post.

5. No tag-back

These are the questions that I’m supposed to answer:

1. Among your blog posts, which one is your favourite?

My favorite is probably this one. In medical school, it’s so easy being caught up in the books and studying 24/7 that sometimes we lose sight of what our goal is: to be compassionate physicians. I thought that making a blog post about it would remind the current medical students and physicians who read my blog. That lecture was definitely one of those emotional medical school moments where the whole class goes “Holy sh*t” after it’s over. I will always remember that lecture and what Dr. P taught us that day.

2. At what time of the day do you usually write a blog post?

Really depends. I think I’m more of a morning blog post writer. In the afternoons and nights I’m usually studying or doing work for school.

3. What is your favourite word in your native language?

Popliteal. I could not stop saying this word in anatomy last year. I have problems. I guess popliteal isn’t technically English though…crap.

4. What do you like to eat in the morning?

I’m a huge breakfast/brunch fan. I love eating an amazing omelette with hashbrowns. I also love eating some good (decent quality, aka not Bisquik) pancakes/french toast/waffles. I don’t really have time to make breakfast every day though, so I usually just end up eating cereal…it’s sad.

5. Choose one: tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate. Why do you choose it?

Coffee. Because if I drink anything less caffeinated I’ll probably fail out of medical school.

6. Do you have a close friend? Is there one thing that you can only do with that friend?

My SO is my best friend. I have friends, I just don’t have a friend who is exclusively a ‘best’ friend, if that makes sense. I think with my SO, the best thing is that everything we do is fun. Have to go to the grocery store? It’ll be fun. Have to go to the bank? It’ll be fun. Have to go to some boring presentation? It’ll be fun. Just the nature of how we are makes things that are usually boring more enjoyable.

7. What is your favourite book and why do you like it?

I have a lot of books that I like to read, but instead of telling you about a book, I’ll recommend some short stories that I love. This one is a story about humanity using resources to survive and what happens when we finally run out. And this one is about the afterlife. They’re both really good reads. The reason why I like them is because they make me wonder about life/the meaning behind it all/what happens afterwards. They make me think, and that’s why I like them.

8. What do you really want to learn but you haven’t got the time to do it?

I want to learn how to surf, and I want to get better at snowboarding. But alas, med school takes up a lot of time.

9. What do you miss from your childhood?

Not having responsibilities and being oblivious to everything. I’m actually still pretty oblivious, but I’d like to think that I’ve improved since I was 5 years old.

10. Where will you go if you just feel bored at home?

I’ll probably go to a friends house. Or if I can’t do that then I’ll go to the beach or something.

These are the blogs I nominate in no particular oder:

1. The Med School Diary

2. Autumn Scrubs

3. The b.han Project

4. MD After PhD

5. I Hope You Find This Humerus

6. Lily Does Med School

7. Lisa In Medical School

8. Oh, The Places You’ll Go (As a Medical Student)

And these are my 10 questions:

1. If you had one day off, what would you do?

2. What is your favorite comfort food?

3. How much of life would you say you have ‘figure out’?

4. Biggest pet peeve?

5. Hardest thing you’ve had to do?

6. Something you’ve done in the last year that you’ve regretted?

7. What is your special hobby/talent?

8. How do you deal with stress?

9. Best place you’ve visited/traveled to?

10. If you’re a medical student, how has your medical school experience been? If you’re a premed, when did you know you wanted to be a doctor?

4 comments

  1. I like the post you link in no.1. Thanks a lot for sharing it.
    Poplitea is actually a word from our native language in medical school, haha… I like the words dura mater and pia mater. They literally mean tough mother and gentle mother, respectively.
    I rarely drink coffee because I don’t want to be resistant to caffeine effect. Some of my friends have been resistant to caffeine anyway.
    I have a question. What is SO? I don’t know what it stands for.

Leave a Reply

