Rotations and Boards

An accurate representation of what it’s like studying for boards while trying to survive a tough rotation:

12310428

For those of us who decided it’s not worth taking the Leave of Absence, we’re basically trying to make board studying work with rotations. It’s not as impossible as I thought it would be, but it’s still been a bit of a struggle. I try not to complain about it since I chose to do this to myself. The only real silver lining is that rotations solidify what I’m studying in First Aid, Pathoma, DIT, etc. I definitely don’t have study time like I did during my dedicated studying period- on some days I can’t study more than a couple hours. Not to mention I still need to do well on my rotations, so some of the “free” time I have is taken up preparing case presentations and looking up things that I’ll probably get pimped on… So to all my classmates going through the struggle of studying for boards while doing rotations, I feel you. It’s rough but I’m going to be optimistic and say that in the end, this was better for us.

The deadline to take the COMLEX (USMLE is not mandated) for our school is the end of September, with some exceptions. September starts tomorrow, so yeah I’m kind of freaking out now. I’m supposed to take a practice COMLEX exam sometime within the next week. I’ll be really panicked if I score about the same as my first practice test which I took in June. To push the exam back and go through the hell of board studying while doing rotations only to have minimal improvement on a practice test months later will be a horrible situation. To be honest I have no idea what I would do if that happened.

Brb, I need to go breathe into a paper bag.

-NB

Leave a Reply

