Rotations, month 3

I have the following conversation with almost every patient:

What school do you go to?

Nova

Are you an intern?? Like in Grey’s Anatomy?

No. I’m a medical student.

What year are you?

Third

So then how many years until you’re done?

One more year after this

And how many years for training?

Depends on what I specialize in

So then what do you want to specialize in?

I don’t really know

How are you liking it here so far?

(If the attending is not in the room): It’s good, I like it

(If the attending is in the room): It’s great, I love it!

We’re three months into rotations, about to start our fourth. I still haven’t had my “Ah-hah!” moment. I still don’t know what to do. In order to make myself feel a little productive, I’ve recently made a short list of things that I might consider doing:

  • Emergency medicine
  • Anesthesiology
  • Obstetrics/gyn
  • GI
  • Infectious disease
  • Something surgical

The M4s are now in the midst of the residency application cycle. I’m going to be doing the same thing in less than a year and I don’t even know what to specialize in. Most people tell me to do IM because at least there are a bunch of fellowships I can sub-specialize in and if I end up not liking one thing then I can “just do another fellowship”. To be honest it doesn’t sound like the greatest idea to me. A student I rotated with said that I should do ortho because I “like to fix things”, and a patient of mine told me to do EM because I seem like I’ll become “the kind of doctor that doesn’t tolerate any BS” (thanks…I guess?). It kind of sucks not really knowing what to go into because I’m trying to figure out logistics for audition rotations and it’s kind of hard to do that if I don’t know what to audition in.

Anyway, I’ll just sit here and wait for my board scores. I guess if I do awful I’ll add psych onto my list.

kidding.

-NB

One comment

Leave a Reply

