Ready, Set, Go.

My class can now officially access VSAS, or Visiting Student Application Service. This is what we’ll be using to help us schedule our elective and audition rotations for our last year of medical school.

tumblr_lhpu3rrOkp1qhxr17o1_250

I don’t know what field I want to go into. I’m still deciding between about 4 specialties, so I can’t exactly start planning for my fourth year just yet. At this point, I really wish I explored some specialties and subspecialties earlier on. I should have looked at some things in more depth, especially those that we don’t have a core rotation in (I’m looking at you, rads and neuro).

I’m trying to make the most out of all this by taking advantage of any opportunities that come along to check out other specialties. Surprisingly, I’ve gotten to see a decent amount of radiology during some of my rotations, in addition to several of the internal medicine subspecialties like infectious disease, nephrology, and cardiology. If anything, I’ve learned that just asking the attending to go see or do something usually results in a “Yeah sure, go ahead”.

All that being said, not knowing what I want to go into is eating me alive. I actually feel more stressed out than I’ve ever been. I think I’m just scared of picking  the wrong specialty and having to deal with it for the rest of my life. It’s really a race against time. I need to figure out what I want to do by March when programs start accepting applications for elective rotations. The problem is that most of the specialties I’m considering are those that I haven’t even rotated in yet. I didn’t think my M3 schedule was bad, until now. I’ve had such a primary-care-heavy M3 year so far that I haven’t had the chance to look into the more competitive and more specialized areas of medicine…

It feels like this year is going by faster and faster and all I want is for it to slow down so I can catch my breath.

-NB

Leave a Reply

