Voices

“Hey Mr. A. How are you feeling today?”

“I’m okay”

“That’s good to hear. By the way, one of the nurses told me that you’re not taking your medications”

“Yeah, that’s true. I refused”

“I see. Why is that? It’s supposed to help with the voices. Remember we want the voices to go away?”

“No…you guys want the voices to go away”

“You don’t?”

“No. I changed my mind. I don’t want them to go away anymore”

“How come?”

“Because when the voices go away I’m all by myself again. I’m lonely”

 

10 comments

    1. Yes, it actually happened. I sat down and talk to him a little bit more and then spoke to the resident about it. Unfortunately the resident didn’t really seem to care.

      1. No family or friends from what I remember. A lot of our psych patients didn’t have anyone. It’s really sad.

      2. Yeah, it’s sad.
        Well, just make sure he take the medicine and keep himself away from harm. I haven’t got experience with psych patient so I don’t know.

  1. I just found your blog, and I absolutely love it. It’s stark moments like these that I think older eyes glaze over, immune.. But our fresh eyes as medical students see it and feel it. Can’t wait to see more posts xx

Leave a comment