Children

Me talking to a 6 year old kid:

“Can you point to where it hurts?”

<patient points to bellybutton>

“I see. And does the pain radiate?”

“Does it what?”

“Oh sorry. I mean, does it feel like the pain spreads to other parts of your body?”

“Umm…no??

“Okay, and on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the most unbearable pain you’ve ever had, how would you rate the pain?”

Definitely a 10″

“Wow, okay. I’m sorry to hear that. We’ll do our best to make you feel better okay? I’m just going to chat with the doctor real quick”

The patient nods.

I step out of the room as the patient’s mother approaches me.

“I just want to say that I think it’s so great the way you talked to my little boy about his stomach ache. I’ve read online that it’s really important to speak to children like they’re an adult because it improves their social development. So thank you for that!”

“Oh…Uh..Yeah, sure. No problem”

The truth is I have no idea how to talk to children and pretty much just talk to them like they’re adults.

At this point I can definitely say I won’t be going into peds.

 

-NB

 

Leave a Reply

