I’ve got 99 problems

It’s the third week of September. The DO residency applications have been open for a couple months, but the MD residency applications have just opened for submission a couple days ago.

I feel like everyone in my class has got their application stuff together, at least judging from the non-stop influx of social media posts I’ve been getting for the past week or so. Me on the other hand, am a hot mess.

I actually decided to apply to two specialties. I guess this isn’t entirely uncommon, but the biggest problem this is causing me (other than killing my bank account) is that 1.) I have to write another personal statement from scratch, and 2.) I’m short some letters of recommendation. Since I’m limited geographically, I’m applying to both the DO and MD match. This means my DO application for my second specialty is incredibly late and this isn’t even taking into consideration how late my letters are going to be. I know people that were getting interviews in July for this specialty, and I’m going to submit an application for it in the middle of September. Why?

Because I’m scared I’m not going to match if I only apply to one specialty. I’d rather drop the money now with a later application in a second specialty than realize in November that I don’t have enough interviews and scramble to apply to more programs as a last-ditch effort. Trying to add more programs then would really be too late. The real issue I had to think about was before applying to a second specialty was, “Could I see myself in this field? Would I be happy if I matched in this instead?”. And my answer is yes, mostly because the two fields are actually similar with a bit of overlap.

The anxiety is real- I’m having some problems sleeping. I seriously considered even taking a clinical/research year and applying for the match in 2018 so I could give myself a mental break, but I don’t think it’s feasible at this point. I feel like I’m stuck in a 50 foot deep hole where the only escape is to climb out. The problem is that I keep falling back in.

 

-NB

 

Leave a Reply

