Medical Student to Intern

For the past week, I’ve been in orientation with my co-interns, including those in IM and EM. It’s been pretty chill. We got training in our EMR system and got set up with our dictation device, Dragon. We also had a white coat ceremony, where we each got our shiny, new, long white coats! Yesterday we got our pagers (boo) and were taught how to use them and return a page. I’ve gotten to know a bunch of the other interns, and I can say that we’re a laid back group of people. I’m excited to work with them!

Now that it’s July, we officially start residency. Even though I’m am FM resident, we still have to do 3 months of inpatient IM, which is what I start off with. You can’t see my face but I’m super excited to be starting on inpatient medicine, no really, just…so excited…

I ended up getting the weekend off, so I don’t have my first day until Monday. This kind of worries me in that the other two interns on IM start over the weekend and I’ll have a lot of catching up to do on Monday when I get there. Since I’m FM, I haven’t had to do a real IM rotation for a while, and only did one as an M4 and just our standard core IM rotations as an M3. I feel kind of screwed, and the panic is actually fueling my desire to cram as many internal medicine topics as possible. The other two interns working with me are actually IM interns and I will be the only non-IM intern on the service. This means they’ve probably done at least 6 months more of IM and IM subspecialty related rotations compared to me. Fantastic.

Anyway, I just wanted to say good luck to all the other interns out there who are starting residency. We can do it! Also if any seniors or attendings have tips for surviving intern year, let me know!

Leave a Reply

