First week as an intern

Well, I survived 8 straight days of inpatient IM. I’m not going to lie, it’s been a little rough. At my hospital, the interns are responsible for admitting patients and typing up all the notes. This can be a little overwhelming when you also have complicated patients with sh*t hitting the fan and nurses paging you about what you want to do, in which case my answer 90% of the time is “Uhh..let me verify with my senior”. Speaking of the seniors, I honestly have no idea how us interns would survive without them. They have been AMAZING. They’ll help us with notes, admit patients when we’re too busy, and generally just try to make things easier for us. In such a cut throat world like medicine I’m so glad that there are still some good people out there.

On another note, I’m still a little weirded out by being referred to as doctor. I specifically tell the nurses to call me me by my first name. I even feel weird parking in the doctor’s parking lot, or going to the doctor’s lounge to get food. I feel like such a fraud, I’m sure the medical students rotating with us know more than I do.

For the M4s out there auditioning this year- you can help the residents out a ton by seeing patients with us and writing notes. We currently have a fourth year student auditioning with us and she’ll see up to four patients and have the notes already done by the time we finish rounds and noon conference. You guys have no idea how much it helps us out, especially when we’re getting slammed with admissions. Being a team player is a BIG deal. Of course, we’ll put in a good word for you with the chief and program director when they ask for our feedback. I also try to point out some of the interested cases to the M4s so they can see something different than the standard chest pain or heart failure workup.

Anyway, today is my first day off and I don’t get another one for another 8 days, so I’m going to go enjoy myself (read: do laundry, pay bills, basically do adult things), even though all I really want to do is sleep all day. Yay, intern year!

Leave a Reply

